Designer Bags to Diaper Bags

A Single Girl's Quest to Becoming a Mom, Finding Love, and Everything In Between…

Adult Vision

Leave a comment

I’m back from vacation and I had a great time.  Being at the beach every day was soothing for my soul.  However, I am glad to be back and able to sleep in my own bed.  I’m also glad to be able to watch adult television!  If I had to watch another day of the Disney Channel I think I would shoot myself.  Lol.

Seriously, is this what I have to look forward to?  Anyone who knows me knows that I love watching tv.  I have a host of shows that are in my rotation and when I can’t find any shows to watch on cable, I can watch a movie on Netflix or rent one from Redbox.  But watching the same shows over and over on the Disney Channel is not what I would call a good day of tv watching.  And I had 10 days of that!  Of course the kids were in heaven.  They literally watched the same shows so many times that they were telling me what the character was going to say next.  And from my perspective that was just pure torture.  I looked forward to the hour in the morning before they got up when I could watch Good Morning America and hear adults talking on tv and see what was going on in the adult world.  One night I looked at my brother and was like “Dude, seriously, is this all they watch?”  He looked at me and just laughed and then said “Get used to it.  That’s what the DVR is for.”  I really don’t know what I’m going to do when my child is old enough to be able to understand what’s going on on tv and I can’t watch my regular programming.

Growing up, I don’t know if my parents felt this way or not.  I know that we didn’t have more than one tv in the house when we were young.  I believe we got the additional televisions when we  went to junior high school.  I don’t know what the impetus was to buy the additional televisions, but I can only imagine that my parents got tired of watching our shows and wanted to be able to watch what they wanted to watch.  Or maybe it was that the content of the programming was more family oriented and they didn’t have to worry about what was going to pop up on the screen if it was playing something other than kiddie programming.  Who knows…  I do know that I don’t think I will be able to last 12 years watching solely the Disney Channel.

As I write this blog I am laying on top of my bed with the remote control right next to me.  I feel like I have so much tv to catch up on.  I guess I better enjoy this time of adult vision and watching whatever I want before I have to worry about 24 hours of kiddie vision.    And on that note, I’m going to flip through some channels and see what’s on.  🙂

Leave a Reply

