Designer Bags to Diaper Bags

A Single Girl's Quest to Becoming a Mom, Finding Love, and Everything In Between…

Just Another Manic Monday…

Leave a comment

stress

I finally went to see the endocrinologist last week.  And just as Dr. N stated, my thyroid is out of whack.  Dr. B, the endocrinologist told me that I have Hashimotos Thyroiditis – an autoimmune disorder in which my body’s immune system is attacking my thyroid gland making it unable to produce a sufficient amount of thyroid hormone.  Dr. N said that she wants my TSH levels under 2.5 before she will do the IUI, but Dr. B says he wants them under 2.0.  So he gave me a prescription for levothyroxine, a synthetic thyroid hormone, which I’m going to have to take for the rest of my life.  I have to go back in for blood work in eight weeks (which feels like and awfully long time) to see if the medicine is working and my levels have dropped.  Another eight weeks before I can even think about insemination…

Hormone replacement therapy was the news I expected.  I was not expecting Dr. B to tell me that he found a nodule on the left side of my thyroid and the right side is slightly swollen.  I now have to go for a sonogram later this week and depending on what they see on the sonogram, I may have to have a biopsy.  This is NOT the type of sonogram I saw myself having in the near future.  So needless to say, I’ve been stressed out ever since I heard this news.

The stress, compiled with this medication has made me batty.  The side effects to the medicine have not been fun (heart palpitations, hot flashes, exhaustion, headaches, and mood swings).  I was told this is normal and would have to just “grin and bear it” for the first two weeks until my body gets used to the medicine.  Even though the heart palpitations and hot flashes are bad, I can deal with them.  What I’m having a hard time dealing with are my mood swings.  I’ve been on a serious emotional roller coaster — one minute I’m fine, the next I’m crying.  I feel like I have PMS on steroids.  Yesterday was a very Manic Monday.  Today was Testy Tuesday — I felt like leaving work and going home to curl up under my blanket to hibernate for the next eight weeks.  I don’t know what Wednesday is going to bring…

I do know that everything happens for a reason though.  If I did not decide to go through with this process, who knows how long it would’ve taken for me to find out my thyroid was jacked up — certainly the three doctors that I went to before complaining about symptoms did not seem all that concerned.  So for now, I can only take this slight delay in its stride, and pray that the medicine does what it’s supposed to do in a timely manner.  I’m also praying that I don’t have a Whacky Wednesday and all goes well on Thursday!!

Leave a Reply

